Coffee Cake in a Mug

15 Mar

I absolutely hate breakfasts.

IMG_9156

 

I find cereal, toast, and anything else except bacon and eggs disgusting.

IMG_9151

 

I usually eat leftovers from the fridge when I eat breakfast.

IMG_9152

 

But the story isn’t over. I found a delicious, fast, and easy recipe for coffee cake in a cup.

IMG_9150

 

Well, this was a few months ago, and I have made the mugcake several times since. Here is the recipe.

IMG_9154

 

 

Coffee Cake in a Mug

IMG_9134

Ingredients:

1 tbs butter

2 tbs sugar

1 egg

2 tbs sour cream

vanilla

1/4 cup all purpose flour

1/8 tsp baking powder

crumb topping (see below)

OR

Nutella (not both, that’s gross.)

Procedure:

1. SOFTEN not melt the butter in a large mug in the microwave.

IMG_9137

2. Fork in the sugar until creamy.

IMG_9138

 

IMG_9139

 

3. Add some egg. I usually use a whole one, but you don’t have to. Mix.

IMG_9140

4. Add the sour cream and some DROPLETS of vanilla. Not dribbles. Droplets. Mix.

IMG_9143

5. Add 2 tbs of nutella IF you are using it.

IMG_9142

6. Add the flour. I used gluten free, but it’s the same for regular flour. Also add the baking powder. Mix.

IMG_9145

7. If you didn’t add nutella, mix the following with your fingers in a small bowl and sprinkle on top (I didn’t):

1 tbs butter

2 tbs flour

1 tbs brown sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

IMG_9148

8. Put in microwave for one minute MAKING SURE IT DOESN’T GO OVER THE TOP! If it still looks REALLY wet and jiggles when you shake it, microwave for 10 seconds more. If needed, 10 seconds more. I usually do 1 minute and 15 seconds.

IMG_9153

9. Eat. Careful, it’s hot.

We bought some Trader Joe’s “Cocoa Almond Spread”. It tastes just like Nutella, but a VERY faint almondy taste and it’s a bit less sticky. BUT it has way less fat and sugar. Yes, please.

IMG_9147

 

~Ashley

One Response to “Coffee Cake in a Mug”

  1. Emma March 15, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    no way! i hate breakfast too. I refuse to eat cereal, toast, yogurt., oatmeal, I will only eat bagels and eggs. this WILL come in handy……

Leave a comment